Faculty Handbook 2022-2023

B.2.e. Other Faculty Committees

Collegiate Center Committees

Each of the following committees or individuals is responsible for its respective part of the Collegiate Center. Responsibilities include initiating curricular design, advising Academic Affairs in annual course offerings, designing and implementing faculty development projects, and proposing curricular changes to the Committee on Curriculum.

     The Engaged Citizen: Gess (spring), Jellenik (chair), McClung, Morgan, and Pfau (fall)

     Explorations:  Seme (chair) and Vidal-Torreira

     Learning Domains and [Quantitative Skills Capacity]: Committee on Curriculum (chair, Weddle)

     Writing Capacity:
            W1: English Department (Jaeger, chair)
            W2: Camfield, Coulter (chair), Shutt

     Foreign Language Capacity: Languages Department (chair, Rauh)

     Physical Activity Capacity: Physical Activity Coordinator (McCracken J)

     Quantitative Skills Capacity:  Haden-Chomphosy, Seme (chair), Spayde, Zorwick

Special Programs

W.C. Buthman Endowed Visiting Scholar and Lectureship Program
      Faculty Coordinator: Hancock

Hendrix-Murphy Foundation Programs in Literature and Language

     Officers of the Foundation: President (Arnold); Vice President (Bonebright); Secretary/Treasurer (Siebenmorgen)

     Board of Directors: President of the College (Arnold); Lineal Descendant of Bertie Wilson Murphy (Martha Wilson Murphy); Spouse of Lineal Descendant of Bertie Wilson Murphy (Suzanne Murphy); Chair of the College Board of Trustees (Jo Ann Biggs); Chair of the College Investments Committee (Kenneth Gunderman), and Murphy Scholars Representative (non-voting, Gabrielle Lefear)

     Program Review Committee: Executive Vice President and Provost (Bonebright); Lineal Descendant of Bertie Wilson Murphy (Martha Wilson Murphy); Spouse of Lineal Descendant of Bertie Wilson Murphy (Suzanne Murphy); Foundation Director (Coulter); Faculty Representative (Duina); and Murphy Scholars Representative (non-voting, Gabrielle Lefear)

     Finance Committee: The Chair of the Hendrix College Investments Committee (Roger King); Secretary/Treasurer of the Foundation (Siebenmorgen); and the two Murphy family members serving on the Foundation Board of Directors (Martha Wilson Murphy and Suzanne Murphy)

Steel Center

     Membership of the Steel Center Board includes Ablondi, Alston, Bonebright, Campolo, Corey, Dow (chair), Gorvine, and Williamson.

Windgate Museum of Art Director/ Curator Christian Cutler 

Faculty Programs Support Committees

Faculty Parliamentarian: Whelan

FARE: Caro, Hancock, Morgan, Tinsley

Fulbright Scholars Faculty Liaison: Whelan

NCAA and SAA Faculty Representative: Camfield

International Student English Evaluation and Placement Committee: Stuber, Nelson (chair), and Jaeger

Marshals of the College: Peszka (marshal), Miller (assistant marshal), and Spayde (assistant marshal). The College Marshals direct academic processions and seating at all convocations and Commencement.

Pre-Med Committee: Peter Kett (chair), Laura MacDonald, Rick Murray, Nora Simmons

Research Integrity and Safety:

  • Research Integrity Officer: Hatch
  • Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee: Caro (chair), McClung (scientific member), Dow (nonscientific member), Jenkins (veterinarian member), Ferdowsian (nonaffiliated member)  [ Animal Welfare Policy]
  • Academic Chemical Safety and Biosafety Officers: Bradley (Campus Chemical Compliance Director, chair), Custer (Biology), Desrochers (Chemistry), Lusk (Theatre Arts), Payne (Art), and Steward (Physics) 

Travel Advisory Committee: Contreras-Silva, Kolev (chair), and LeBlanc