Mathematics and Computer Science

Hogan Mathematics Award

Hogan, Walter EdwinThe Hogan Mathematics Award is presented in honor of the late Dr. Walter Edwin Hogan, to the senior mathematics major with high achievement in upper-level mathematics courses and with active participation in department activities.

Dr. Hogan was born in Izard County, Arkansas in 1872 and received a somewhat haphazard education in whatever schools were available in the general area. He was determined to receive a college education and entered Hendrix College in 1893, graduating with a B.A. degree in 1897.

For three years, he taught and recruited students for Sloan Hendrix Academy in Imboden, Arkansas, and did graduate work at the University of Chicago. In 1900 he returned to Hendrix as Professor of Mathematics and German.

In 1910 he was called to Nashville, Tennessee, to become Assistant Secretary of the Board of Education of The Methodist Episcopal Church, South. In the church merger of 1938-40, he became Treasurer of the Board of Education of the Methodist Church, retiring in 1944.

He received a Masters of Arts Degree from George Peabody College in 1917 and was awarded an honorary Doctorate by Hendrix in 1932. His wife, Mary Young Hogan, attended both Galloway and Hendrix. They were married by Dr. A.C. Millar, former President of Hendrix.

Throughout his life, which ended in 1949, Dr. Hogan never lost his love for, nor interest in, Hendrix College. The Hogan Mathematics Award was established in 1913 and is awarded yearly.


Year Recipient(s)
2021Cameron Minor
Eric Pinter
2020Kate Sanders 
2019Will Brabson
Jacob Hines 
2018Grace Thomasson
2017 Ryan Rose 
Candyce Sarringar
2016Rachel Zweig
2015Gary DeClerk 
Quan Nguyen
2014 Kaleigh Clary
Grace Trees
2013 Innocent Bushayija
Sarah Pullen
2012 Hannah Flatau
Luke Kressin
2011 Dana Callaway
William Jay Porter
2010 Drew Tillis
Henry Wang
2009 no award
2008 Henry Phillips
2007 Thomas Przybylinski
2006 C Thomas Christie
2005 no award
2004 Peter Horn
2003 Jared Williams
2002 Elizabeth Fite
2001 Ben Goodwin
2000 Elizabeth Loggins
1999 no award
1998 Shiloh Harder
Brian Raines
1997 Diana T. Hua
Jennifer R. Powell
1996 John Wade Satterfield
Donna R. Sword
1995 Kevin R. Hutson
Lars K. Seme
1994 Scott M. Wagner
1993 Jared H. Grigsby
1992 no award
1991 Michael Daniel Gilliam
Mark John Lancaster
1990 Cristy Leigh Creger
Carla M. Woods
1989 Sheri Jordan
1988 Carol Ann Parker
1987 Jody Dawn Novak
1986 James Buford Hart
1985 Kevin Lynn Shirley
Richard Kyle Wofford
1984 Karen Anderson
Grey Williams
1983 Bianca Hearn
Karen Shirley
1982 Jerry Coker
Carol Smith
1981 Sandra Cousins                                  
Mike Pinter
1980 Cassandra Scrimshire
1979 Lisa Orton
Gene Weber
1978 Mark Burton
Alma E. Posey
1977 Donald M. Hayman
William R Orton, III
1976 Michael G. Tiefenback
1975 Patricia Guinn
John Tiller
1974 Cassandra Cox
John Tiller
1973 John Lovett
John Tiller
1972 Keith Berry                                  
Marilyn Martin
1971 John Lovett
1970 Evan Green Houston, Jr.
1969 John Gannaway
Phillip Parker
1968 Evan Green Houston, Jr.
1967 Charles Robert Engles
1966 Robert Curran Frese
1965 Tommy Kay Teague
1964 Lawrence Samuel Barden
1963 Russel Gene Brasher
1962 Tommy Kay Teague
1961 William Cazort Moose
1960 Thomas Ray Caplinger
1959 Roger Wightman Mitchell
1958 Richard Dowell Byrd
1957 Richard Dowell Byrd
1956 Robert Benton Nelson
1955 Mansel Hillard Baker
1954 John Ralph Reed
1953 William Enoch Wilson
1952 John Ralph Reed
1951 Martha Rilley
1950 Elizabeth Ann Terrell
1949 Richard Dixon Worley
1948 Donald Alan Gorsline
1947 Donald Alan Gorsline
1946 Jean Frances
1945 Irma Ann Ward
1944 Ada Lorine Ryland
1943 Alfred Byron Nimocks, Jr.
1942 Walter Wilson Hoy
1941 Donald Earl Robinson
1940 Katherine Frances Cahill
1939 Iva Lee Henry
1938 Virginia Anne Rice
1937 Napoleon Montgomery Smith
1936 Juanita Griffin
1935 William Francis Long
1934 George Pickard McKnight
1933 Thomas McKinnie Sanders
1932 John Wayne Daugherty
1931 Pearl Hughes
1930 James Lesley Hale
1929 Samuel Isaac Bratton
1928 Robert Foster Young
1927 Robert Morris Short
1926 Edna Bryant
1925 Thomas Gwyn Bratton
1924 Oris E. McCullough
1923 Charles Fay Bratton
1922 Margaret Pittman
1921 Ralph McDonald
1920 Lillian Brooksher House
1919 James Frank Clark
1918 Ildrem Powers Daniel
1917 Edley Wainright Martin
1916 James Martin Hill
1915 Walter Anderson Hearn
1914 Benjamin O. Womble
1913 Willie Reason Stephens

T.H. Ware Mathematics Award

The T.H. Ware Mathematics Award predates the Hogan Award and was named for Rev. T.H. Ware. Rev. Ware was a financial agent (today's term might be development officer) for the college in 1892-93. He served on the Board of Trustees for 23 years.

Year Recipient(s)
1898 C.N. Clark
1899 J.B. Greeson
1900 G. Murphy
1901 W.L. Oliver
1902 S.S. Jefferies
1903 R.E. Holloway
1904 S. Kirkpatrick
1906 J.A. Youngblood
1908 C.H. Nelson
1910 W.P. Davidson
1911 W.E. Laseter
1912 J.R. Burton