Mathematics and Computer Science

Eslinger Computer Science Award

eslinger-smallRobert C. Eslinger came to the Department of Mathematics at Hendrix College in 1976. Bob received a B.S. in mathematics from Stetson University in 1966 and a Ph.D. in mathematics from Emory University in 1971. When he retired from Hendrix he held the Elbert L. Fausett Distinguished Professorship of Mathematics and while at Hendrix Bob served terms as Department Chair, Natural Sciences Area Chair, Associate Provost and Interim Provost and Dean of the College.

One of Bob's unusual teaching accomplishments is the development of the computer science program at Hendrix College. In the mid-eighties Bob spent two summers in a faculty development program at Clarkson University for training mathematicians to teach computer science. After completion of the program Bob developed a set of computer science courses that were collectively equivalent to a mathematics-based computer science minor. Bob continued to teach those courses for a decade until Hendrix hired its first computer scientist in 1995.

On the mathematics side Bob devoted more than ten years to the development and teaching of reform calculus and was a strong advocate of the Moore method in teaching students the mechanics of proving theorems. In 1978 Bob initiated the Hendrix-Rhodes-Sewanee Undergraduate Mathematics Symposium at which students from the three schools present results of their undergraduate research projects. Bob has himself directed over thirty undergraduate research projects in mathematics and computer science.

Bob served as national President of Pi Mu Epsilon, the national honoray mathematics society and as Governor of the Oklahoma-Arkansas Section of the MAA. In 2004 he won the MAA OA teaching award.

Each year the Robert C. Eslinger Computer Science Award is presented to a senior computer science student with high achievement in upper-level computer science courses and with active participation in department activities.


Year Recipient(s)
2021Innocent Nsabimana
Eric Pinter
2020Samantha Fish
Kate Sanders
2019Callahan Hirrel 
2018Eric Huynh
Anna Holmes 
Bosco Ndemeye
2017Ryan Rose 
Collin Shaddox
2016Connor Bell
Elizabeth Dye 
John McAvey 
2015Rebecca Perez 
Stephen "Kyle" Wilshusen
2014 Brandon McNew
2013 no award
2012 Alex Koeppel
2011 Brett Geren
Winn Haynes
Whitney Maguffee
2010 no award
2009 Don Bennett
2008 no award
2007 Ian Hill
2006 Zach Collins
Colin Williams
2005 Jonathan Crosmer
2004 Geri Headrick
Zach Hill
2003 Tim Morey
2002 Josh Karlin
Derek Leonard
Nicole Shafer
2001 Scott Bell
Anthony Nguyen
Aaron Tolman
1999 Shane Covington
1998 Martin Eckles