Religious Life


Hillel, the Foundation for Jewish Campus Life, provides opportunities for Jewish students at more than 500 colleges and universities to explore and celebrate their Jewish identity through its global network of regional centers, campus Foundations, and Hillel student organizations. Hillel is working to provoke a renaissance of Jewish life.

Our mission is to enrich the lives of Jewish undergraduate and graduate students so that they may enrich the Jewish people and the world. Hillel student leaders, professionals, and lay leaders are dedicated to creating a pluralistic, welcoming, and inclusive environment for Jewish college students where they are encouraged to grow intellectually, spiritually, and socially. Hillel helps students find a balance in being distinctively Jewish and universally human by encouraging them to pursue Tzedek (social justice), Tikkun Olam (repairing the world), and Jewish learning and to support Israel and global Jewish peoplehood. Hillel is committed to excellence, innovation, accountability, and results.

The Hendrix Hillel chapter was started in 2002 by Tyler Kenworthy and Nicole O'Neal. Hendrix Hillel is open to all students and members of the Hendrix community who are interested in learning about Judaism or participating in activities that center around Judaism.

Hillel is the Jewish Student Union designed for Jewish students and secular students interested in learning and celebrating Judaism.

With a wide variety of programming, including Shabbat dinners, speakers and holiday events, that acknowledge students’ diversity of interests, pluralism is at the heart of everything Hillel does.

Hendrix Hillel encourages students to participate in whatever capacity they feel comfortable with and has leadership positions available for students in all classes. We pride ourselves on facilitating Jewish education and learning by combining traditional practices with a fun and welcoming environment. If you would like more information please contact us via email (listed below) or visit our office (SLTC #126)!

2015-2016 officers:

President: Isabelle Staines

Vice President: Sydney Fobare

Historian: Mari Thomeczek

Public Relations: Riva Cullinan & Yahelle Yaccoby

Faculty Adviser: Dr. Dorian Stuber Ph.D (Fausett Hall #204I)

Past officers:

2014-15 Co-Presidents: Blair Schneider and Lindsay Mindlin

2013-14 Co-Presidents: Blair Schneider and Rosie Mandel

2012-13 Co-Presidents: Ryne Lawrence and Zach Saul

2011-12 Co-Presidents: Avery Drongowski and Zach Saul

2010-11 President: Jordana Rogers

2009-10 President: David Kolovson

2008-09 President: Sam Ginsberg

2007-08 President: Sara (Sunny) Young