News Center

Hendrix Board Approves New Statement on Diversity

CONWAY, Ark. (November 14, 2016) – The Hendrix College Board of Trustees endorsed new measures to increase campus diversity and inclusion, approving a new Statement on Diversity and launching a new Board of Trustees Committee on Diversity and Inclusion at a recent meeting.

The statement was approved by Hendrix faculty in the spring. Read the statement   

The new committee is chaired by Walter Pryor ’87. Other members include Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion and Chief Diversity Officer Dr. Dionne Jackson ’96, Darrin Williams ’90 (Vice Chair), Carolyn Miller ’74, Rev. Vic Nixon ’62, and Rev. Dede Roberts.

The committee provides oversight for matters relating to diversity, equity, and inclusion at the College; and works to ensure that the College meets the diversity mission through its regular review of campus data, including climate survey results, and priorities, both current and long range.

The new statement and Trustee committee are a result of the 2015-2020 Hendrix College Strategic Plan, which emphasizes increasing diversity on campus and ensuring inclusion at all levels of the College. 

In addition to the new Trustee committee, there is also a 10-member Committee on Diversity Concerns, which includes faculty, staff, and student representatives. The committee was formed to advise the faculty and administration on issues relating to the promotion of a community that welcomes and supports diversity, including but not limited to racial, ethnic, gender, sexuality, and religious diversity.

For more information about the Office of Diversity and Inclusion, visit

About Hendrix College

Hendrix College is a private liberal arts college in Conway, Arkansas. Founded in 1876 and affiliated with the United Methodist Church since 1884, Hendrix is featured in Colleges That Change Lives: 40 Schools That Will Change the Way You Think about Colleges and is nationally recognized in numerous college guides, lists, and rankings for academic quality, community, innovation, and value. For more information, visit