The Arkansas Delta

Forty-two Arkansas counties, whole or in part, are classified as part of the Lower Mississippi Delta Region (Housing Assistance Council, 2012) (see shaded area of the map below). The poverty levels in many of these counties are higher than the U.S. national average.  The major purpose of the funding provided by the National Science Foundation (NSF) is to support the recruitment of STEM teachers into high poverty areas.  Through the N-STEAD program we at Hendrix partner with our neighbors in the Delta to provide highly qualified STEM teachers for Delta communities.

Delta Counties

Hendrix N-STEAD Orange and Blk Text Version Very SmallNSF Logo and words