Hendrix Diversity and Inclusion

Who We Are

Hendrix College was the first Associated Colleges of the South institution to appoint a Chief Diversity Officer who reports directly to the President.

As Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion, Dr. Jackson serves as the Chief Diversity Officer (CDO) and leads the College’s diversity, equity, and inclusion initiatives. The CDO provides leadership for strategic planning and programming that advances the diversity mission and works to foster an accepting and welcoming campus climate. She is an ex-officio member of the Committee on Diversity and Dialogue and serves as staff liaison to the Board of Trustee’s Committee on Diversity and Inclusion. Dr. Jackson is also an Associate Professor of Education.

She earned a Doctor of Education degree at Baylor University, a Master of Science in Education degree from the University of Central Arkansas, and a Bachelor of Arts degree in Biology from Hendrix College. Her research and teaching interests are teacher recruitment and retention and social justice in education.

Amber Jackson joined the Office for Diversity and Inclusion as Program Manager in 2017. In addition to coordinating and promoting office activities and diversity initiatives on campus, Ms. Jackson works together with the CDO to plan, develop, and evaluate diversity and inclusion programming; plan and conduct employee and student diversity trainings; and analyze and report climate survey data. 

Ms. Jackson is committed to social and economic justice, and she brings to this position a background in research and government and nonprofit work. She earned a Master of Public Service degree at the University of Arkansas Clinton School of Public Service, a Bachelor of Social Work degree at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, and an Associate of Arts degree at Pulaski Technical College. She is also a graduate of the Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences, and the Arts. 

Derrick King '19 and Maddie Clendening '20 serve as student workers in the Office for Diversity and Inclusion for the 2018-2019 school year.


2018-2019 Diversity Ambassadors

Amy Cabrera, Mallory Magruder, Kevin Martin, Nancy Velazquez, and Otto Estrada