News Center

Residence Hall Recognition for Hendrix Students in 2020-2021

CONWAY, Ark. (May 14, 2021) – The Hendrix College Office of Residence Life on Friday, May 7 announced the recipients of the 2020-2021 Residence Hall Awards.

“In this unusual year, with so many additional challenges, one thing that didn’t change was our students’ dedication to bettering the Hendrix community,” said Dean of Students Jim Wiltgen. “Our residence halls are the heart of our institutional mission. Several of these awards have been given for nearly 50 years. We are glad to be able to honor our students’ efforts to lead and build community on our campus.”

James D. Kleck ’24 is the recipient of the Darrell G. Trotter Memorial Award, which is given to a resident of Couch Hall who has exhibited enthusiastic leadership and mature citizenship.

Linh M. Phung ’23 is the recipient of the Jessie Embry Award, which is given to the Galloway woman who embodies best those qualities for which the late Mrs. Embry is admired and respected: selfless pride in her work, deep caring for others, devotion and service beyond what is asked or required.

Taylor D. Aishman ’24 received the Hardin Hall Outstanding Citizen Award, which is presented to the resident of Hardin Hall who, in the estimation of his peers, has done the most for his hall and fellow residents and has best exemplified the standards and ideals of Hendrix College.

Taylor Y. “Ty” Forrest ’23 received the Miller Creative Quad Outstanding Citizen Award, which is given to the Miller resident who has best demonstrated qualities of strong leadership, good character, and concern for their fellow Miller residents. 

Somila Mathews ’24 received the Raney Hall Award, which is presented to the Raney woman who best exemplifies loyalty, enthusiasm, and friendship.

Raiden S. DeKoter ’24 received the Violet Braly Award, an honor bestowed by his peers for his dedication, his enthusiasm, and his genuine consideration for fellow Veasey residents. (Veasey Hall has traditionally housed only women, but the building, scheduled for renovation in 2021-2022, was pressed into service this year as co-educational housing to allow more single-occupancy rooms during the pandemic. Mr. DeKoter is the first man to receive this award.)

Shaundraya D. Jackson ’21 is the recipient of the Apartment Council Outstanding Leadership and Service Award. This award is presented to a standout resident of the Hendrix College apartment community who has volunteered more than his or her fair share of work toward improving the community.

Jeremy G. Choh ’21 received the Houses Council Award, which is presented to the outstanding resident who has been devoted to building community and fostering friendship in the Houses.

About Hendrix College

A private liberal arts college in Conway, Arkansas, Hendrix College consistently earns recognition as one of the country’s leading liberal arts institutions, and is featured in Colleges That Change Lives: 40 Schools That Will Change the Way You Think About Colleges. Its academic quality and rigor, innovation, and value have established Hendrix as a fixture in numerous college guides, lists, and rankings. Founded in 1876, Hendrix has been affiliated with the United Methodist Church since 1884. To learn more, visit