News Center

Phi Beta Kappa Initiation 2020

CONWAY, Ark. (May 12, 2020) – Twenty-five Hendrix College seniors on April 29 were elected to the Phi Beta Kappa Society’s Beta of Arkansas chapter at Hendrix. Because of precautions related to the coronavirus pandemic, the ceremony was held via videoconference.

Founded in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest and largest academic honor society, with more than half a million members. It has chapters at 286 of the finest colleges and universities. The Society’s mission is to promote the liberal arts and sciences, to recognize academic excellence, and to foster freedom of thought and expression.

The 2020 Phi Beta Kappa inductees at Hendrix College include:

  • Graham T. Anderson
  • Emily J. Bowie
  • Aleck Teva Bratt
  • Bailey A. Brya
  • Jordan Leah Carl
  • Leah Claire Crenshaw
  • Lauren Dwyer
  • Samantha Fish
  • Storm Devin Walker Gardner
  • Mackenzie A. Gearin
  • Chelbi Andraya Gilmore
  • Emma Gimenez
  • Lauren Olivia Hardick
  • Jane Danielle Henderson
  • Nicole Anne Henry
  • Larissa Isimbi Ndimbira
  • Normastel Judith Johnson
  • Emily M. Jordan
  • Reece Buchanan Mitchell
  • Inaya Alexandra Molina
  • Mattie Nester
  • Anna Lee Norman
  • Faith Ann Reynolds
  • Kennedy Reynolds
  • Spencer Marie Skaggs

About Hendrix College

A private liberal arts college in Conway, Arkansas, Hendrix College consistently earns recognition as one of the country’s leading liberal arts institutions, and is featured in Colleges That Change Lives: 40 Schools That Will Change the Way You Think About Colleges. Its academic quality and rigor, innovation, and value have established Hendrix as a fixture in numerous college guides, lists, and rankings. Founded in 1876, Hendrix has been affiliated with the United Methodist Church since 1884. To learn more, visit