News Center

Latest Class of Murphy Scholars Inducted

Thirty sophomores were named Murphy Scholars in Literature and Language during an induction ceremony on October 16. The new group will immerse themselves in literature and language opportunities through programs, travel and study abroad, service experiences, tutorial courses, and research during the next three years. All Murphy Scholars will graduate with distinction having completed an Oxford-style tutorial course in language and literature and three of the Murphy Scholar Program’s approved co-curricular experiences in literature and language. This year’s cohort includes students majoring in twenty unique areas of study, like Neuroscience, Studio Art, Economics and Business, and Political Journalism.

The Class of 2021 Murphy Scholars in Literature and Language are:

  • Morgan Akers of Cabot, Arkansas (English/Literary Studies)
  • Kirstyn Baker of Fort Smith, Arkansas (Chemistry and Spanish)                   
  • Sarah Brady of Bryant, Arkansas (English/Literary Studies and Social Justice)
  • Natalie Burgess of Bryant, Arkansas (Politics)
  • Amy Cabrera of Little Rock, Arkansas (Economics & Business)
  • Danielle Carney of Jacksonville, Arkansas (Theatre Arts & Dance and Art History)
  • Ashley Cheak of Dayton, Ohio (English/Creative Writing)
  • Brittany Chue of Springdale, Arkansas (Economics & Business)
  • Graham Cifelli of Tulsa, Oklahoma (Sociology and English/Creative Writing)
  • Stephen Clark of Little Rock, Arkansas (Undecided)
  • Jazmine Denney of Redfield, Arkansas (Computer Science and Anthropology)
  • Danielle Dilday of Spring, Texas (Biochemistry/Molecular Biology)
  • Zelda Engeler-Young of Conway, Arkansas (Interdisciplinary Studies: Science Writing)
  • Peter Grant of Conway, Arkansas (Spanish)
  • Marlee Hoggard of Little Rock, Arkansas (Undecided)
  • Quinn Carver Johnson of Arkansas City, Kansas (English/Creative Writing and Gender Studies)
  • Madelyn Klinkerman of Pearland, Texas (Undecided)
  • Mallory Magruder of Dallas, Texas (Interdisciplinary Studies: Social Justice)
  • Cole McVay of Little Rock, Arkansas (Studio Art)                 
  • Kailey Miller of Columbia, Missouri (Interdisciplinary Studies: Political Journalism)
  • Rosemarie Ochoa of Little Rock, Arkansas (Music)
  • Callista Poiter of Glen Carbon, Illinois (Biology)          
  • Maranda Pouncy of Little Rock, Arkansas (Economics & Business and Spanish)
  • Portia Renée of Kansas City, Kansas (Neuroscience and German)
  • Kyle Rutherford of Batesville, Arkansas (Classics and Computer Science)
  • Jackson Sims of Little Rock, Arkansas (Psychology)
  • Lydia Sullinger of Danville, Arkansas (Philosophy)
  • Lydia Weidman of Fort Smith, Arkansas (Psychology)
  • Savannah Wiegel of London, Arkansas (Biochemistry/Molecular Biology and Spanish)
  • Jordan Young of Little Rock, Arkansas (Interdisciplinary Studies: Literature, Art, Spirituality)

View induction ceremony photos