News Center

Thirty-Two Hendrix Students Elected into Phi Beta Kappa

Phi Beta Kappa

CONWAY, Ark. (April 28, 2013) – Thirty-two Hendrix students were elected into the Beta chapter of Phi Beta Kappa on Wednesday, April 24 in Reves Recital Hall.

Founded in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa is the nation's oldest and largest academic honor society, with more than half a million members. It has chapters at 270 of the finest colleges and universities. The Society's mission is to promote the liberal arts and sciences, to recognize academic excellence, and to foster freedom of thought and expression.

The 2013 Phi Beta Kappa Beta chapter inductees are:

  • Christopher Kemel Akcali, a biology major from Irving, Texas
  • Anna Broadwell-Gulde, an English major from Memphis, Tenn.
  • Monica Renee Chatterton, a history major from Saint Francisville, La.
  • Aaron Cole Cochran, a philosophy major from Mountain Home, Ark.
  • Calvin Thomas Cochran, a mathematics major from Huntsville, Ala.
  • Kathleen Elizabeth Combs, a psychology major from Little Rock, Ark.
  • Ana Julia Contreras, a sociology/anthropology major from Houma, La.
  • Emily Ann Deitchler, an environmental studies major from Eureka Springs, Ark.
  • James R. Dornhoffer, a biochemistry molecular biology major from Roland, Ark.
  • Jonathan George English, a psychology major from Youngsville, La.
  • Patrick Douglas Fields, an economics and business major from Northampton, Mass.
  • Katelyn Ann Kirkpatrick, a psychology major from Germantown, Tenn.
  • Ashley Nicole Lyman, a philosophy major from Fayetteville, Ark.
  • Michaelene Millicent-Michelle Miller, a psychology major from Little Rock, Ark.
  • Tresor O. Mukiza, a biology major from Kioali City, Rwanda
  • Erin Elizabeth Murchison, a religion major from Austin, Texas
  • Mariah N. Nehus, a sociology/anthropology major from Benton, Ark.
  • Sarah Jane Pearce, a history major from Springdale, Ark.
  • Sarah J. Pullen, a mathematics major from Richardson, Texas
  • Josephine Frances Reece, a philosophy major from St. Paul, Minn.
  • Leslie Grace Reynolds, an environmental studies major from Austin, Texas
  • Carly A. Roark, a biochemistry molecular biology major from Conway, Ark.
  • Alexandria Elyse Saunders, a biology major from Jonesboro, Ark.
  • Lauren Elizabeth Stansbury, a psychology major from Lafayette, La.
  • Arthur Paul Taucher, a chemistry major from Texarkana, Ark.
  • Johnny Phuong Tran, a biochemistry molecular biology major from Fort Smith, Ark.
  • Erik G. Urban, a chemical physics major from Conway, Ark.
  • Jennifer Lea Vos, a classics major from Prairie Grove, Ark.
  • Robert M. Weingold, a chemistry major from Jonesboro, Ark.
  • Lindsey Wiggin, a philosophy major from New Boston, N.H.
  • Victoria A. Wood, a theatre arts major from Houston, Texas
  • Maia Sousan Yang, an economics and business major from Hot Springs, Ark.
  • Mike Pinter (Alumnus initiate, in absentia)

Founded in 1876, Hendrix College is a national leader in engaged liberal arts and sciences education. For the fifth consecutive year, Hendrix was named one of the country’s “Up and Coming” liberal arts colleges by U.S. News and World Report. Hendrix is featured in the 2012 edition of the Princeton Review as one of the country’s best 377 colleges, the latest edition of Colleges That Change Lives: 40 Schools That Will Change the Way You Think about Colleges, Forbes magazine's annual list of America's Top 650 Colleges, and the 2013 edition of the Fiske Guide to Colleges. Hendrix has been affiliated with the United Methodist Church since 1884. For more information, visit