News Center

Murphy Scholars Class of 2024 Announced


CONWAY, Ark. (March 23, 2021) – Thirty-two first-year Hendrix College students have been selected for the Murphy Scholars Program.

Murphy Scholars explore literature and language at a more intensive level by participating in designated study, travel, research, and service experiences in literature and language during their sophomore, junior, and senior years at Hendrix. The program is open to students of all majors; this year’s cohort includes students majoring in ten unique areas of study.

“This is a strong cohort,” said Hope Coulter, Hendrix-Murphy Foundation director. “Starting college in an all-virtual format as they did certainly wasn’t the college experience of their dreams. Yet they jumped in, worked hard, and got involved to the point of applying this spring to become Murphy Scholars. They’re a very diverse group, not just with regard to ethnicity, genders, and majors but also as far as their interests in literature and language. We have one who’s eager to learn Swedish, for instance, and one who already co-founded a new poetry group on campus.”

The Class of 2024 Murphy Scholars in Literature and Language are:

  • Keeley Ausburn of Maumelle, Arkansas (English-Literary Studies and Politics)
  • Connor Bennett of Conway, Arkansas (Philosophy)
  • Samantha Broussard of Pass Christian, Mississippi (English-Creative Writing)
  • Kaleigh Coker of East End, Arkansas (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology)
  • Annie Elliott of Albuquerque, New Mexico (English-Literary Studies and Politics)
  • Cade England of Fayetteville, Arkansas (Biology)
  • Tyler Francis of Bryant, Arkansas (Biology)
  • Bergen Franklin of Fayetteville, Arkansas (Politics)
  • Paige Fuhrman of Bryant, Arkansas (English-Literary Studies)
  • Bri Graggs of Little Rock, Arkansas (Biology)
  • Yaritza Hernandez of Little Rock, Arkansas (Biology)
  • Kaylee Jacobs of Bentonville, Arkansas (Undecided)
  • Colin Jenkins of Austin, Texas (Politics and English-Literary Studies)
  • Aadharsh Jeyasakthivel of Bedford, Massachusetts (Psychology)
  • Ronni Laslo of Batesville, Arkansas (Biology)
  • Bauer Lee of Little Rock Arkansas (Psychology)
  • Gabbie Lefear of Little Rock, Arkansas (Undecided)
  • Sophie O’Reilly of Tulsa, Oklahoma (English-Creative Writing and Anthropology)
  • Houston Phillips of Boise, Idaho (Politics)
  • Luke Pitts of Alma, Arkansas (English-Creative Writing)
  • Camryn Presley of Greenwood Arkansas (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology)
  • Corissa Ross of Little Rock, Arkansas (Politics)
  • Lily Ryall of Little Rock, Arkansas (Undecided)
  • Emma Schroeder of Magnolia, Arkansas (French)
  • Claire Segura of Austin, Texas (Anthropology)
  • Maeve Smith of Rogers, Arkansas (Environmental Studies)
  • Ainsley Walker of Batesville, Arkansas (Undecided)
  • Audrey Williams of Russellville, Arkansas (Biology)
  • Marcia Williams of Vilonia, Arkansas (Anthropology)
  • Trevion Williams of Forrest City, Arkansas (Politics and Economics)
  • Vada Wood of Clarksville, Arkansas (Undecided)
  • Sophie Yarbrough of Rogers, Arkansas (Biology and English-Literary Studies)

All Murphy Scholars will graduate with distinction, having completed an Oxford-style tutorial course in language and literature and three of the Murphy Scholar Program’s approved co-curricular experiences in literature and language.

In lieu of an in-person ceremony, the Murphy Scholars Class of 2024 induction will consist of a pre-recorded event for students and their families to attend online on Tuesday evening, March 30. This induction will also recognize the cohort of 2023; due to the pandemic, they had to forgo an induction last spring.

About the Hendrix-Murphy Foundation

Hendrix-Murphy Programs enrich the study of literature and language for Hendrix College as a whole as well as for students with intensive interest in those areas. The late Mr. Charles H. Murphy, Jr., former Chair of the Board of Murphy Oil Corporation and former member of the Hendrix Board of Trustees, established the Foundation in 1978 in memory of his mother, Mrs. Bertie Wilson Murphy. A 1905 graduate of Galloway Women’s College—which later became part of Hendrix College—Mrs. Murphy possessed a lifelong love of literature and language, to which these programs are exclusively dedicated.

About Hendrix College

A private liberal arts college in Conway, Arkansas, Hendrix College consistently earns recognition as one of the country’s leading liberal arts institutions, and is featured in Colleges That Change Lives: 40 Schools That Will Change the Way You Think About Colleges. Its academic quality and rigor, innovation, and value have established Hendrix as a fixture in numerous college guides, lists, and rankings. Founded in 1876, Hendrix has been affiliated with the United Methodist Church since 1884. To learn more, visit