News Center

Hendrix Announces Residence Hall Awards for 2021-22 Academic Year

CONWAY, Ark. (May 12, 2022) – The Office of Residence Life at Hendrix College has presented the 2021-22 Residence Hall Awards to students whose actions have fostered the community spirit of various areas of on-campus housing.

Amelia Lindsey ’25 is the recipient of The Darrell G. Trotter Memorial Award, which is given to a resident of Couch Hall who has exhibited enthusiastic leadership and mature citizenship.

Kimber Campbell ’25 receKimber Campbell receives the Jessie Embry Award from Dean Jim Wiltgen.ived The Jessie Embry Award, which is given to the Galloway woman who embodies best those qualities for which Mrs. Embry is admired and respected - selfless pride in her work, deep caring for others, devotion, and service beyond what is asked or required.

Tyson Montoyo ’25 is the recipient of The Hardin Hall Outstanding Citizen Award which is presented to the resident of Hardin Hall who, in the estimation of his peers, has done the most for his hall and fellow residents and has best exemplified the standards and ideals of Hendrix College.

Owen Edgington ’25 is the recipient of The Miller Creative Quad Outstanding Citizen Award, which is given to the Miller resident who has demonstrated qualities of strong leadership, good character, and concern for their fellow Miller residents. 

Leigh Brown ’25 received The Raney Hall Award, which is presented to the Raney woman who best exemplifies loyalty, enthusiasm, and friendship.

Lauren Berry receives the Violet Braly Award, presented by Dean of Students Jim Wiltgen.Lauren Berry ’22 is the recipient of The Violet Braly Award, honored by her peers for her dedication, enthusiasm, and genuine consideration for fellow Veasey Hall residents – which required extra effort this year in particular, with Veasey Hall closed for renovation and its residents maintaining the community spirit while living in other locations.

Nestor Ruiz ’22 received The Captain W.W. Martin Award. This award is presented to the Martin Hall resident who has demonstrated those qualities which Captain Martin’s life exemplified: strong leadership, good character, and concern for others. Like Veasey Hall, Martin Hall is currently closed for renovation, so this recognition for Ruiz comes in a challenging year for preserving community.

Jakson Needham ’24 is the recipient of the Houses Council Award. This award is presented to the outstanding resident who has been devoted to building community and fostering friendship in the Houses.

Ty Forrest ’23 received the Apartment Council Outstanding Leadership and Service Award. This award is presented to a standout resident of the apartment community and has volunteered more than his or her fair share of work in improving the community.

“All of these students have given extra effort this year to fostering community on campus,” said Dean of Students Jim Wiltgen. “They have earned this recognition from their fellow students, and the Residence Life staff is grateful for their leadership and care for others.”


About Hendrix College

A private liberal arts college in Conway, Arkansas, Hendrix College consistently earns recognition as one of the country’s leading liberal arts institutions, and is featured in Colleges That Change Lives: 40 Schools That Will Change the Way You Think About Colleges. Its academic quality and rigor, innovation, and value have established Hendrix as a fixture in numerous college guides, lists, and rankings. Founded in 1876, Hendrix has been affiliated with the United Methodist Church since 1884. To learn more, visit