News Center

Phi Beta Kappa Initiation 2018

CONWAY, Ark. (April 30, 2018) – Twenty-seven Hendrix College seniors on April 25 were inducted into the Phi Beta Kappa Society’s Beta of Arkansas chapter at Hendrix.

Founded in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest and largest academic honor society, with more than half a million members. It has chapters at 286 of the finest colleges and universities. The Society’s mission is to promote the liberal arts and sciences, to recognize academic excellence, and to foster freedom of thought and expression.

The 2018 Phi Beta Kappa inductees at Hendrix include:

  • Braxton Fisher Anderson
  • William G. Berry
  • Benjamin Kent Border
  • Mara J. Campbell
  • Calista Zoe Corwyn
  • Elizabeth C. Draper
  • Sara Marie Dyslin
  • Elizabeth Breann Forbes
  • Emma L. Gaither
  • Megan Rachelle Hunter
  • Eric M. Huynh
  • Brandon Thomas Leding
  • Christian René Leus
  • Rebecca Joyce Maeder
  • Trang Thi Quynh Nguyen
  • Lauren Elizabeth Petrisin
  • Lena Pham
  • Lexus L. Raney
  • Emily Joy Seminara
  • Anna Borisivna Sharabura
  • Leah JoAnn Smith
  • Joy Elizabeth Spence
  • Claire E. Turkal
  • Sarah Faith Walker
  • Yuxiu Wang
  • Kathleen Ann Wendover
  • Laela Zaidi

View photos from the ceremony

About Hendrix College

A private liberal arts college in Conway, Arkansas, Hendrix College consistently earns recognition as one of the country’s leading liberal arts institutions, and is featured in Colleges That Change Lives: 40 Schools That Will Change the Way You Think About Colleges. Its academic quality and rigor, innovation, and value have established Hendrix as a fixture in numerous college guides, lists, and rankings. Founded in 1876, Hendrix has been affiliated with the United Methodist Church since 1884. To learn more, visit