Hendrix Leadership

Board of Trustees

The Hendrix College Board of Trustees establishes policies for the governance of the College; holds, manages, invests, and reinvests the property, endowments, and assets of the College; and is responsible for the election of the President and the conferral of honorary degrees. Members of the Board dedicate their expertise and resources to the advancement of Hendrix and play an integral role in the implementation of the mission, purpose, and strategic plan of the College.

The Hendrix College Board of Trustees is composed of up to 34 members, including a maximum of 24 at-large members nominated by the Executive Committee and elected by the full Board; three United Methodist clergy trustees who are in full connection with the Arkansas Conference of the United Methodist Church; five United Methodist lay or clergy trustees (lay/clergy trustees) without regard to their residence or conference connection; and two ex officio members, the Bishop of the Arkansas Area of the United Methodist Church and the President of the College. In addition, the Board includes one representative each from the faculty, staff, and the student body, and those trustees who may, from time to time, be named Trustee Emeritus. At least 50 percent of Board members must be alumni of Hendrix College. The Board of Trustees meets three times per academic year—in October, February, and May.

Questions concerning the Hendrix College Board of Trustees may be directed to the Office of the President.

Thank you for your interest in Hendrix College.

Henry E. Neely II ’83, Chair  
Plano, Texas  

Ruth H. Bernabe ’81  
Memphis, Tennessee

Jo Ann Biggs ’80, Immediate Past Chair   
Dallas, Texas  

Barry D. Blake ’91 
New York, New York

Dr. John C. Byrd 87       
Cincinnati, Ohio 

Dr. Charles M. Chappell ’64   
Little Rock, Arkansas  

Susan Farris DeBoard ’71   
Conway, Arkansas

Luke Duffield ’91  
Russellville, Arkansas 

Kim Evans, Secretary
Little Rock, Arkansas

Dr. Hayden Franks ’89  
Little Rock, Arkansas

Heather Gardner ’93
Chicago, Illinois

Latoya M. Goree Smith ’01
Kansas City, Missouri

Joe R. Goyne III ’69  
Dallas, Texas

Kenneth Gunderman ’93  
Little Rock, Arkansas

Dr. Joe G. Hollyfield ’60
Cleveland, Ohio

Jan N. Hundley ’80  
Little Rock, Arkansas

Eric Jackson ’72
Hot Springs, Arkansas

Michael D. Malone ’92  
Bentonville, Arkansas

Carolyn L. Miller ’74  
Dallas, Texas

Bishop Laura Merrill, ex officio  
North Little Rock, Arkansas  

Rev. Mark K. Norman
Little Rock, Arkansas

Dr. Marquita Norman ’97
Grapevine, Texas

Teresa Clogston Osam ’72
Little Rock, Arkansas

Rev. Sara Cole Pair ’94 
Fayetteville, Arkansas  

Karen K. Petersen, Ph.D., ex officio
Hendrix College
Conway, Arkansas

Walter Owen Pryor ’87, Vice Chair
Atlanta, Georgia 

Rev. Dr. John C. Robbins
Little Rock, Arkansas

Martin W. Shell ’80 
Stanford, California

Elizabeth S. Small ’81
Little Rock, Arkansas 

Derrick Smith ’97 
Little Rock, Arkansas

Rev. Roy P. Smith ’77
Little Rock, Arkansas 

Terry Joe Ticey ’80
Minneapolis, Minnesota

William H. Wilcox
Addison, Texas

Darrin L. Williams ’90
Little Rock, Arkansas

Sasha Pfau, Faculty Representative
Conway, Arkansas

Janiya Ashford ’25, Student Representative 
North Little Rock, Arkansas

Tim Purkiss, Staff Representative
Conway, Arkansas

R. Madison Murphy ’80, Trustee Emeritus   
El Dorado, Arkansas