Alumni Association Awards

The Alumni Association Awards Ceremony is held annually during Alumni Weekend. There are currently four awards given: Distinguished Alumni Award; Outstanding Young Alumni Award; James E. Major Service Award; and Hendrix College Humanitarian Award.

We are now accepting nominations for the 2025 awards from Hendrix College alumni, faculty, administrators, and friends. The cut-off date for the 2025 awards is October 31, 2024. Nominations received after this date are held for consideration the next year and are kept on file for five years.

Awards Nomination Criteria:

Distinguished Alumni Award
The Distinguished Alumni Award is given by the Alumni Association to living alumni who have distinguished themselves in their vocations, service to humanity and service to the College.
Previous recipients

Outstanding Young Alumni Award
The Outstanding Young Alumni Award shall be presented to an alumnus or alumna of Hendrix College who has shown accomplishments and promise in his or her chosen profession or in service to the broader community and has demonstrated a continuing loyalty, support and advocacy for the college. The recipient should be within 15 years of his or her graduation from the college (for 2025 awards, the class of 2009 to 2024 will be considered).
Previous recipients

James E. Major Service Award
The James E. Major Service Award was created in 1981 to honor Dr. James E. Major of Little Rock, a 1940 alumnus, senior vice president emeritus and minister in the Little Rock conference of the United Methodist Church. It is given for meritorious service to the College.
Previous recipients

Hendrix College Humanitarian Award
The Humanitarian Award is presented by the Hendrix College Alumni Association to living alumni who have significantly improved the quality of life in the world through their service and dedication to humanity.
Previous recipients  

Contact the Alumni Office with questions.