News Center

Five Hendrix Faculty Members to Retire this Year

CONWAY, Ark. (January 25, 2017) – Five members of the Hendrix College faculty will retire this year.

  • Dr. Tom Goodwin, Elbert L. Fausett Distinguished Professor of Chemistry (effective May 2017)
  • Dr. Alice Hines, C. Louis and Charlotte Cabe Distinguished Professor of English (effective December 2017)
  • Dr. Randy Kopper, Professor of Chemistry (effective December 2017)
  • Dr. Tom Stanley, Julia Mobley Odyssey Professor of Economics and Business (effective May 2017)
  • Dr. Ann Willyard, Nancy and Craig Wood Odyssey Associate Professor of Biology (effective May 2017)

In addition, former U.S. Ambassador Al Eastham ’73, will be ending his time at Hendrix as Senior Fellow in International Relations.  

“These are all dedicated faculty who have made lasting contributions to the College,” said Hendrix Provost Dr. Terri Bonebright. “We wish each of these faculty members well as they move to the next phase of their lives.”

About Hendrix College

Hendrix College is a private liberal arts college in Conway, Arkansas. Founded in 1876 and affiliated with the United Methodist Church since 1884, Hendrix is featured in Colleges That Change Lives: 40 Schools That Will Change the Way You Think about Colleges and is nationally recognized in numerous college guides, lists, and rankings for academic quality, community, innovation, and value. For more information, visit